The Student Voice of MU Since 1955
Friday, November 27, 2015
On Campus
On Campus
Nov. 17, 2015

Three resolutions passed during second joint session

Posted to On Campus by Neeti Butala on Nov. 17, 2015 at 9:03 p.m.

Joint Session picked up right where it left off at 6 p.m. on Nov. 17 after voting unanimously to end early on Nov. 10 because of safety threats on campus. Joint session unanimously voted to pass three resolutions. The Missouri Students Association, Residence Halls Association, Panhellenic Association, Interfraternity Council, Four ...

RHA’s Residential Living Committee discussed improvements to safety on campus and upcoming events.

Posted to On Campus by Lauren Wortman on Nov. 17, 2015 at 1:10 p.m.

During the Nov. 11 Residential Living Committee meeting for the Residence Halls Association, members discussed ways for residence halls to better handle dangerous situations and having a better equipped campus. Suggestions included a safety walk to see exactly how many Emergency Blue Light Phones are on campus and where they ...

Nov. 9, 2015

RHA President Billy Donley gives speech regarding #ConcernedStudent1950 during congress

Posted to On Campus by Lauren Wortman on Nov. 9, 2015 at 10:22 p.m.

About an hour after Chancellor R. Bowen Loftin announced his 2016 resignation, RHA held bi-weekly congress. President Billy Donley addressed the situation prior to adjournment. “I am having this conversation because a lot is happening on campus,” Donley said. “Things are really shifting right now. This campus; the climate, the ...

Nov. 8, 2015

MSA Senate supports removal of gender labels from all campus single-stall restrooms

Posted to On Campus by Emily Gallion on Nov. 8, 2015 at 3:28 p.m.

The Missouri Students Association full senate passed a resolution during the Nov. 4 meeting that would reassign single-stall gender-specific bathrooms to gender-neutral bathrooms. Resolution 55-13 supported renaming of current “uni-sex bathrooms” to simply “bathrooms,” a change Social Justice Committee members said was more supportive of gender non-conforming individuals. Supporters said ...

Nov. 4, 2015

RHA prepares for joint session, aims to reach out to organizations on campus

Posted to On Campus by Lauren Wortman on Nov. 4, 2015 at 9:37 p.m.

The Residence Halls Association’s Advocacy Committee discussed details of concerns to address during the joint session, which will meet at 7 p.m. on Nov. 10. During the joint sessions, which occur once per semester, representatives from the student governments on campus come together to pass legislation and give updates. The ...

Nov. 2, 2015

PHA announces 2016 executive board

Posted to On Campus by Waverly Colville on Nov. 2, 2015 at 12:30 p.m.

The Panhellenic Association’s 2016 executive board was announced on Sunday night via PHA’s Twitter. President: Amanda Farrer, Alpha Chi Omega Vice President of Programming: Zoe Crowe-Barnes, Kappa Delta Vice President of Risk Management: Avery Day, Sigma Kappa Vice President of Recruitment-External: Victoria Bezzole, Chi Omega Vice President of Recruitment-Internal: Lucia ...

Oct. 27, 2015

While President Billy Donley facilitates MSA debate, RHA continues with business as usual

Posted to On Campus by Lauren Wortman on Oct. 27, 2015 at 3:00 p.m.

Two bills and one executive order were discussed in Residence Halls Association Congress on Oct. 26. Although President Billy Donley spent the evening of Oct. 26 facilitating the Missouri Students Association presidential debate, RHA representatives and board members continued their regular schedule, holding their bi-weekly congressional meeting. Executive Order No. ...

Oct. 26, 2015

LIVE BLOG: Oct. 26 MSA debate fact check

Posted to On Campus by Amos Chen, Elizabeth Loutfi and Claire Mitzel on Oct. 26, 2015 at 6:09 p.m.

7:44 p.m. McFarland/Segers said the MU Counseling Center only gives students five sessions. The average number of sessions for individual treatment at the Counseling Center is 7 with a maximum of 12 sessions, according to the center's Counseling Information and Consent for Treatment 7:14 Gomez/Hanner said there are three DACA ...

Oct. 23, 2015

LIVE BLOG: MSA presidential debate fact check

Posted to On Campus by Claire Mitzel, Jennifer Prohov, George Roberson and David Soler Crespo on Oct. 23, 2015 at 4:43 p.m.

5:49 p.m. Heather Parrie said there are rain gardens on every floor of Gateway Hall. There is only one garden. 5:46 p.m. Jonathan Segers said the university must “powerwash soot” from the MU Power Plant off buildings every year. According to the MU Center for Agroforestry, soot is removed electrostatically ...

Oct. 22, 2015

MSA senate failed to come to a vote on a resolution regarding Planned Parenthood

Posted to On Campus by Emily Gallion on Oct. 22, 2015 at 11:44 a.m.

The Missouri Students Association full senate confirmed three positions, sent two resolutions back to their committees and passed four acts during the Oct. 21 meeting. At the beginning of the meeting, Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs Cathy Scroggs addressed the senate. She requested that the senate send the minutes of ...