The Student Voice of MU Since 1955
Sunday, April 19, 2015
On Campus
On Campus
Feb. 4, 2015

Wetherington denied for SJC chair, Schwartz announces resignation from Operations committee chairman

Posted to On Campus by Waverly Colville on Feb. 4, 2015 at 9:51 a.m.

The Operations Committee of the Missouri Students Association denied candidate Greer Wetherington for the new Social Justice Committee chair position Tuesday night. Applications for chair of the SJC are open again. Operations thought Wetherington did not answer the questions fully or specifically enough. Many of the committee members said they ...

Jan. 29, 2015

Executive cabinet, chairs, at-large senators confirmed at MSA senate

Posted to On Campus by George Roberson on Jan. 29, 2015 at 9:54 a.m.

The Missouri Students Association confirmed one committee chair and the Board of Election Commissioners chair at their full Senate meeting Jan. 28. BEC chairwoman Emma Henderson and Budget committee chairman Bill Vega were confirmed along with six new members of executive cabinet. Six at-large senators were also sworn in during ...

Dec. 6, 2014

Loftin approves “Gateway” for new residence hall name

Posted to On Campus by Rachel Pierret on Dec. 6, 2014 at 12:20 p.m.

On Dec. 5, Chancellor R. Bowen Loftin approved the name “Gateway,” for the Virginia Avenue South housing project. In October, the Residence Halls Association voted on five potential names for the housing project, with Gateway as their top recommendation. RHA President Steven Chaffin passed this resolution on for approval to ...

Dec. 5, 2014

Head, Smith-Lezama announce 2015 executive cabinet

Posted to On Campus by Jack Waddell on Dec. 5, 2014 at 12:43 p.m.

The Missouri Students Association President-elect Payton Head and Vice President-elect Brenda Smith-Lezama officially announced their executive cabinet Friday morning. The executive cabinet comprises current senators and committee members. 2015 MSA Executive Cabinet Chief of Staff: Cara Hartwig Deputy Chief of Staff: Daniel Chacko Secretary of Auxiliaries: Christopher Hanner Director of ...

Dec. 4, 2014

MSA Senate hosted in Columbia City Council chambers

Posted to On Campus by George Roberson on Dec. 4, 2014 at 8:50 a.m.

The Missouri Students Association passed five bills and one resolution at their full Senate meeting in the Columbia City Council chambers on Dec. 3. Resolution 54-20, which acknowledges success of the first “Follow That Fee” event on Nov. 20, passed unanimously. Senate Bill 54-14, an act which aims to encourage ...

Nov. 16, 2014

Fall 2014 joint session passes six resolutions

Posted to On Campus by Waverly Colville on Nov. 16, 2014 at 2:25 p.m.

The fall 2014 joint session of MU student governments, hosted this semester by the Graduate Professional Council, gave updates on each organization and passed six resolutions. The Missouri Students Association, GPC, Residence Halls Association, Legion of Black Collegians, Panhellenic Association, Interfraternity Council, National Pan-Hellenic Council and Four Front were in ...

Nov. 12, 2014

Students elect Head, Smith-Lezama for MSA president, vice president

Posted to On Campus by Elizabeth Loutfi on Nov. 12, 2014 at 7:54 p.m.

The winning slate in the 2014 Missouri Students Association presidential election is juniors Payton Head and Brenda Smith-Lezama. A record-breaking 7,075 votes were cast this year. 37 percent, 2,641 votes to juniors Myles Artis/Mary Cate O’Brien 54 percent, 3,848 votes to Head/Smith-Lezama eight percent, 586 votes to sophomores Jordan McFarland/T.J. ...

Nov. 11, 2014

UPDATE: MSA presidential votes surpasses last year’s

Posted to On Campus by Elizabeth Loutfi on Nov. 11, 2014 at 4:17 p.m.

The Missouri Students Association Board of Elections Commissioners reported 5,388 votes have been cast in the MSA presidential elections as of Tuesday at 4:09 p.m. Last year’s total vote count was 5,387. The MSA presidential election polls officially opened 5 p.m. Monday and will remain open until 5 p.m. Wednesday.

RHA passes resolutions for joint session procedures, bike shelters, GoMizzou app

Posted to On Campus by Rachel Pierret on Nov. 11, 2014 at 12:53 p.m.

The Residence Halls Association sixth Congress meeting passed its second bill of the year, two resolutions to joint-session and two general resolutions. RHA President Steven Chaffin introduced a bill to increase the accountability of the executive board. The bill has two parts: updating the present three strikes system of accountability ...

Nov. 9, 2014

IFC, PHA elect new executive board members

Posted to On Campus by Rachel Pierret on Nov. 9, 2014 at 10:47 p.m.

The Interfraternity Council and Panhellenic Association held elections for their organizations executive boards Sunday afternoon. Results were announced via the two groups’ twitters. Interfraternity Council President – Jason Blincow Vice President of Finance and Records – Marshall Rosga Vice President of Membership Development – Cole Lawson Vice President of Programming ...