The Student Voice of MU Since 1955
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Blog about everything and anything happening with the university.

Four finalists announced for journalism deanship

MU officials announced Monday that four finalists are being considered for the deanship in the School of Journalism.

According to a news release, Provost Garnett Stokes, whose term at MU started today, announced the following candidates: Sonya Forte Duhé, director and professor at the Loyola University School of Mass Communications; David Kurpius, professor and associate vice chancellor for enrollment management at Louisiana State University; Esther Thorson, associate dean for graduate studies and research and director of research for the Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute; and Thor Wasbotten, director and professor at the Kent State University School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

MU will host open forums for each candidate to present his or her qualifications and field questions from the audience, according to the release. The dates and locations of the forums will be announced at a later time.

The dean’s office has been vacant since Aug. 31, when former Dean Dean Mills retired after a 25-year term. He announced his retirement Feb. 6, 2014. An interim dean hasn’t been named since Mills’ retirement.

Share: Facebook / Twitter / Google+