Meet the administration: MU and UM System

The UM administration oversees operations on all four campuses, while the MU administration oversees operations and academics at MU.

UM System

The UM System is the centralized university system for four campuses: MU, UM-Kansas City, UM-St. Louis and Missouri University of Science and Technology. The UM System has nearly 76,000 students, and MU is its main campus.

UM System President: Mun Choi

Mun Choi was named president of the UM System in November of 2016 and began in March 2017. As president, Choi serves as the chief executive and academic officer for all four campuses in the UM System. He oversees all academic, public, business, financial and related affairs of all four campuses and also the Board of Curators.

Choi has become known to have changed Missouri’s attitude toward higher education, according to the UM System website. He has been advocating on behalf of the UM System with state and national business and with political and civic leaders to achieve excellence. In partnership with the Board of Curators and university administration, Choi has also created a new collective mission for the UM System in September 2018: to advance the opportunities for success and well-being in Missouri, the nation and the world through transformative teaching, research, innovation, engagement and inclusion.

Board of Curators

The UM System Board of Curators is the governing body of the UM System that consists of nine members who are appointed by the governor with the Senate’s approval. Their many responsibilities include determining the UM System’s mission, reviewing and making appropriate changes to academic programs and approving the university’s annual budget.

The board is composed of seven different standing committees: Executive, Academic, Student and External Affairs, Audit, Health Affairs, Compensation and Human Resources, Finance and Governance, Resources and Planning. The board works in these committees before bringing any recommendations to the full board for a vote.


MU is a public research university that was founded on Feb. 11, 1839. It is Missouri’s largest university and is the flagship of the four campuses in the UM System. MU is home to about 30,000 students.

Chancellor Alexander Cartwright

Chancellor Alexander Cartwright has been MU’s chancellor since August 2017. Cartwright has been working with other MU administrators and oversees MU’s budget planning, resource management and efforts toward achieving all of MU’s educational objectives.

The chancellor’s staff includes an executive vice chancellor for academic affairs as well as vice chancellors of the Division of Inclusion, Diversity and Equity, Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, Finance, Human Resources, Civil Rights and Title IX, Advancement, Strategic Partnerships, Alumni Relations, Research and Economic Development, Extension and Engagement and Operations and Student Engagement.

Provost Latha Ramchand

Provost Latha Ramchand became MU’s provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs in August 2018. She came to MU from the University of Houston where she served as dean of the C.T. Bauer College of Business for seven years. She is the chief academic officer at MU and oversees all academic departments, including MU’s 14 schools and colleges as well as other centers that support academics.

MU’s Schools and Colleges

MU is home to 14 different colleges and schools: the Colleges of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, Arts and Science, Business, Education, Engineering, Human Environmental Sciences and Veterinary Medicine; and the Schools of Health Professions, Journalism, Law, Medicine and Nursing. MU also has an Honors College and a graduate school.

Edited by Laura Evans |

Share: Facebook / Twitter / Google+

Article comments


This item does not have any approved comments yet.

Post a comment

Please provide a full name for all comments. We don't post obscene, offensive or pure hate speech.