Nixon adds more counties to disaster declaration after additional storm damage

Missouri's U.S. senators gave their condolences to areas hit hard by storms.

Due to the severe flooding and tornadoes that have torn through Missouri in the past month, Gov. Jay Nixon requested a federal disaster declaration for multiple counties.

As the severe weather has continued, the declaration has grown to include more areas, including Jasper and Newton counties.

As damage continues to be surveyed from various storms, Missouri politicians have shown their support for the devastated areas and continue to work with the Federal Emergency Management Agency to offer relief to the citizens of the affected areas.

“Our thoughts and prayers go out to the families impacted by this devastating tornado in Joplin,” Sen. Roy Blunt, R-Mo., said in a news release. "While local officials are still assessing the full extent of the damages, I am deeply saddened by the tragic reports of loss of life and extensive destruction resulting from this storm. My staff and I will continue to monitor this situation closely, and I urge everyone to proceed safely and use extra precautions in the region.”

Sen. Claire McCaskill, D-Mo., had similar thoughts for those affected by the severe weather.

“We are doing everything we can on our part to make sure that the federal responses are there and people feel like they have the resources they need,” McCaskill’s spokeswoman Laura Myron said. "If not, then they can contact us and we can try to put them in touch with the right folks."

Numerous mobile disaster recovery centers have been created in order to supply relief to the disaster victims. A second center was recently added in Joplin, Mo. to supply extra help to residents.

“Missouri continues to respond with every available resource to the deadly storm that left so many residents in need of assistance,” Nixon said in a news release.

Nixon’s disaster declaration now includes supplying individual and/or public assistance to the following counties: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Iron, Madison, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Webster and Wayne.

“We are expecting Senator McCaskill to be happy to help out with resources such as FEMA and other things like that to make sure that the federal resources are there for people who need them,” the news release from McCaskill’s office stated.

Share: Facebook / Twitter / Google+

Article comments


This item does not have any approved comments yet.

Post a comment

Please provide a full name for all comments. We don't post obscene, offensive or pure hate speech.